Types of Reptiles

Reptiles and amphibians together are known as herptiles. These animals are grouped together because they are ectothermic, which means that they cannot regulate their body temperature internally, but must use their environments to control temperature. Common temperature-regulating activities include basking in the sun, burrowing or hibernating. The difference between reptiles and amphibians relates to the way they breath. Reptiles generally have only one lung. Amphibians may have lungs, but they also breath through their skin. Both reptiles and amphibians live on land (terrestrial), in the water (aquatic) or both (semi-aquatic).

There is a wide range of animals that fall into the category of reptiles that come from every land area around the world. 

Not all reptiles are allowed to be kept as pets, particularly those that are dangerous to humans, such as most venomous snakes and crocodilians. 


  • Frogs and Toads

  • Caecilians

  • Urodeles

    • Salamanders

    • Newts


  • Turtles

  • Tortoises

  • Terrapins


  • Alligators

  • Caiman

  • Crocodiles

  • Gavial


  • Arachnids

  • Scorpions

  • Spiders

  • Tarantulas

  • Insects

  • Centipedes

  • Millipedes

  • Earthworms


  • Chameleons

  • Geckos

  • Iguanas

  • Lizards

  • Agamas

  • Anoles

  • Monitors

  • Skinks


  • Nonvenomous

  • Black Snakes

  • Boa Constrictors

  • Garter Snakes

  • King Snakes

  • Milk Snakes

  • Pythons

  • Venomous

  • Rattlesnakes

Office Hours 

Monday - Friday: 8:00 am - 6 pm
Saturday: 9:00am - 12:00pm

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon

© 2021 Onslow Animal Hospital

Website Design & Maintenance by